The Auguste Escoffier Foundation, a recognized public utility, is the result of the desire of a few men to perpetuate the memory and work of Auguste Escoffier.

It has been given three essential roles:

  •  Coordinate and enrich the collections at the Escoffier Museum of Culinary Art in order to spread the history of gastronomy.

  •  Organize improvement training courses in order to maintain a high level of knowledge in Chefs in France and abroad.

  •  Play a role in both historical and applied research. To this end, the Foundation organizes meetings and colloquia with specialists from all disciplines of interest to gastronomy. The Research Centre library is devoted to cuisine and the related arts. It is open to all researchers by appointment. 

The Foundation’s Board:

Michel Escoffier - Chairman

Michel Escoffier, the Master’s great-grandson, has held the position of chairman since 2008.
It was during his many business trips abroad that he became aware of his great-grandfather’s fame in the hospitality industry. Simply mentioning his name incites emotion and respect in the kitchen. It was then that he began to increase his knowledge about his great-grandfather and became impassioned about this. In 1985, with his father, he published the Souvenirs Inédits d'Auguste Escoffier, later translated by his wife under the title Auguste Escoffier, Memories of my Life in 1996. The latter also allowed for the publication of Trésors Culinaires de la France, compiling articles written by Auguste Escoffier in the Carnet d’Épicure magazine, which he created in London in 1910 to promote tourism in France amongst the English. 
Michel Escoffier is also a member of the advisory board for two “Auguste Escoffier Schools of Culinary Arts" in the United States (in Austin, Texas and Boulder, Colorado). 

Daniel Dorchies - General Secretary

A former pupil of the Thonon-les-Bains Hospitality School with his classmate Georges Blanc, he obtained a CAP (French vocational qualification, equivalent to an NVQ) in Cuisine, Restaurants and Hotel Employees and a Brevet (French vocational qualification, equivalent to a GNVQ) in Hospitality.  He then went to England as the receptionist at the “Continental Hotel” in Plymouth, and then sailed for 11 years on the cruise liner The France, as the accommodation manager. He subsequently took over running the staff training at the Club Méditerranée in Neuilly. He played a role in creating the FAFIH (French national training insurance fund for the hospitality industry) in 1976 for the South of France section, which allowed him to form numerous relationships with chefs and main hoteliers on the Côte d’Azur. He then joined the Foundation in 1985 at the request of Raymond Armisen, as the Technical Advisor before becoming a Director and then the General Secretary in 2009.

Richard Duvauchelle - Curator

A former pupil of the Hospitality School in Paris in 1964, he obtained a CAP in Cuisine, a BTH (French hospitality qualification equivalent to a Baccalaureate) and then won the best French hospitality school pupils' pastry chef competition in 1967. He later perfected his professional experience by obtaining a Master 2 diploma in Management from the Sorbonne. He took over running several luxury hotels over the course of nearly 35 years (“Martinez”, “Noga Hilton” Cannes, etc.). In particular, it was as the Manager of the “Hotel Martinez” that at the time hosted the Joseph Donon Institute training courses, that he met the Foundation’s members. He joined the Board of Directors in 2015 before being appointed to the position of Curator in 2016. 

Jean-Pierre Hall - Treasurer

After studying economics in Switzerland and England (LSE), he joined the Groupe Concorde in Paris within the “Lafayette” and the “Lutécia” before joining Richard Duvauchelle at “Nova Park Elysées". He completed his education with a Management diploma from Cornell/Essec in Cergy.
For most of his career, he managed major hotels, including the “Byblos” in Saint Tropez, opened the “Villa Belrose” and the “Paradise Cove” on Mauritius, hotels that he would integrate into the prestigious groups “Relais & Châteaux" and “Leading Hotels of the World”.
He continued his career as a consultant in France and in Africa (Morocco & South Africa).
In 2018, Richard Duvauchelle invited him to join the Foundation’s Board of Directors and offered him the position of Treasurer.

History of the Foundation
Auguste Escoffier

It was recognition, his unforgettable memory and the desire to extend his work and his ethics that formed the basis of the idea and then the creation of the Foundation by a group of people who had known and loved Auguste Escoffier and worked with him in London, at the “Savoy” and the “Carlton”.

These men were notable in themselves, Joseph Donon (1899-1979), Paul Thalamas (1871-1961) and Eugène Herbodeau (1888-1981):

Paul Thalamas worked with Escoffier in London for fifteen years, before the First World War, at the “Savoy” and then at the “Carlton”. Escoffier and Ritz then appointed him as the Training manger for the teams in the hotels that the Ritz Development Company opened in Rome, Berlin, Salsomaggiore, Cairo and Frankfurt.

Eugène Herbodeau was the Chef de partie at the “Carlton” from 1912 to 1914 and returned there after the war in 1919. In 1920, he was the Chef at the “Ritz Hotel” in London; he then returned to the “Carlton” in 1928, taking the prestigious place as the Chef, a position that had been occupied by his Master.
In the 1930s, he opened his own restaurant in London, the “Écu de France”. He made this a top-rate establishment, frequented during the Second World War by the “French Overseas” to whom he rendered great service.

Thalamas and Herbodeau were Auguste Escoffier’s biographers. They published a book in London in 1956 entitled: Auguste Escoffier, the Grand master of French Cuisine. It was their spirit that inspired the great project to create a true memorial to his glory in his birthplace, and thus extend his work and ethics with regard to French Cuisine.

The patron, Joseph Donon, was spotted by Escoffier in 1906 at the Château of the Marquis and Marquess of Panisse-Passis in Villeneuve-Loubet, where he was a young commis chef. On invitation from Auguste Escoffier, the young Donon went to London to work with him. Escoffier hired him at the “Carlton” in 1907 and then sent him to New York in April 1912 as the Chef to the steel king: Henry Clay Frick. Joseph Donon remained there until 1914 and returned to France to enlist. At the end of the war he returned to the United States to rejoin his wife. He then enjoyed an extraordinary career as the Chef and steward for the Vanderbilt family. He became the promotor in the United States of French Cuisine, that of Auguste Escoffier.

When the idea of a Foundation in Auguste Escoffier’s memory was raised, he put himself forward as the patron. From 1960, he financed the transformations and layout of the house where Auguste Escoffier was born in Villeneuve-Loubet, to create a “Museum of Culinary Art”. He also financed its operation by creating a trust, the income from which supplied the Foundation. 

Eugène Herbodeau with Auguste Escoffier

The first steps:

Initially, in 1958, Paul Thalamas and Eugène Herbodeau, with the agreement of Joseph Donon, looked to peak the interest of and involve men from the trade: Louis Rampoldi, restaurant owner in Monte-Carlo and former Chef of the “Hôtel de Paris”, Jean Germa, Chairman  of the Culinary Academy, Jean Ducroux, Chairman of the “Fraternelle des Cuisiniers” and Founder of the “Disciples d’Auguste Escoffier” in Nice, and the late Gaston Puget, a restaurant owner in Nice.

Their aim was to create a charity, the first step in this achievement. They caught the interest of the Mayor of Villeneuve-Loubet, Doctor Lefèvre and his wife Jenny Lefèvre, Pierre Bresson, a legal advisor in Cagnes, and Raymond Armisen then the Principal at the Hospitality School in Nice. The Escoffier Foundation was officially created on 9 June 1959. It was called the “Auguste Escoffier Foundation and Museum” and its head office was at 55 Avenue Georges V in Paris.
After the death of Paul Thalamas in 1961, things were on the move.

 

The birth of the Museum of Culinary Art

Joseph Donon contacted the Escoffier family to tell them of his project to create a Museum devoted to Auguste Escoffier. Doctor Jean-Bernard Escoffier was won over by this proposal and gave up his rights to the largest share of the family home. Joseph Rameaux, a retired chef, agreed to take care of the internal refurbishment of the Museum. In Paris, Maître Englert, an international legal advisor, looked after Joseph Donon’s interests. He was in contact with Vincent Bourrel, then the State Prosecutor of the Auditor General’s Department, Chairman of the Club des Cent and, with Louis Vaudable, the owner of the famous “Maxim’s”.
Vincent Bourrel was the Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors from 1966 to 1981, the Chairman being Joseph Donon. He was employed to draw up the Articles of Association for a foundation with a view to “recognition as a public utility”.
The decree was published in the official bulletin on 29 November 1967. The Foundation was managed by Jeanne Neyrat-Thalamas from 1966 to 1993.

The Museum of Culinary Art was opened on 2 May 1966. Joseph Rameaux occupied the role of Curator until 1982. Maurice Panot took over from him until 1989. Pierre Bresson took over the reins in 1990, grouping the collections together and giving the Museum a new lease of life. 

 

Joseph Donon

The Birth of the Joseph Donon Institute

Having created a Museum-Library, Vincent Bourrel and Louis Vaudable tackled professional training. In fact, one of the aims of the Foundation, expressed in the first of its Articles of Association, was (and still is) to establish in conjunction with the French Culinary Academy, a technology unique to the application of French culinary arts.

The Joseph Donon Institute, the Foundation’s professional training body, is a veritable centre for improvement, responsible for spreading French gastronomy across the entire world. It takes a direct and indirect interest in the higher professional education of chefs, and more generally anyone involved in the French culinary arts.

An ambitious school project in Villeneuve-Loubet did not bear fruit, but a niche was found in 1976 thanks to the law of 1971 on ongoing training. Training courses were organized at the Hospitality School in Nice thanks to the initiative and collaboration of its then principal, Raymond Armisen, who later became the Foundation’s Chairman from 1981 to 1997. They were then held in various hospitality schools.
 
In 1983, cuisine courses of a much higher level were established with an original formula: a famous Michelin star chef, different every day, gave lessons on his/her cuisine. These were held in the kitchens of the “Hôtel Martinez in Cannes and the “Hôtel du Palaisin Biarritz. Over time, they acquired their letters patent in the profession. Paule Neyrat, the granddaughter of Paul Thalamas, took care of the organisation until 2001. The courses are currently managed by the Culinary and Educational Council.

Escoffier Museum of Culinary Art

3, rue Auguste Escoffier

06270 Villeneuve-Loubet Village

04.93.20.80.51

escoffier.com@gmail.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Trip Advisor Social Icon

© Fondation Auguste Escoffier. Tous droits réservés

La Fondation Auguste Escoffier

 

La Fondation Auguste Escoffier, reconnue d'utilité publique, est issue de la volonté de quelques hommes de perpétuer le souvenir et l'oeuvre d'Auguste Escoffier.

Elle s'est donnée trois rôles essentiels :​​

  •  Animer et enrichir les collections du Musée Escoffier de l'Art Culinaire afin de communiquer sur l'histoire de la gastronomie.

  •  Organiser des stages de perfectionnement afin de maintenir un haut niveau de connaissances chez les chefs de cuisine en France et à l'étranger.

  •  Participer à la recherche tant historique qu'appliquée. À cet effet, la Fondation organise des rencontres et des colloques avec des spécialistes de toutes disciplines s'intéressant à la gastronomie. La bibliothèque du Centre de Recherche est consacrée à la cuisine et aux arts connexes. Elle est ouverte à tous les chercheurs sur rendez-vous. 

Le Bureau de la Fondation :

Michel Escoffier - Président

Michel Escoffier, l'arrière-petit-fils du Maître, occupe la fonction de Président depuis 2008.
C'est au cours de ses nombreux voyages professionnels à l'étranger qu'il se rend compte de la renommée de son aïeul dans l'industrie hôtelière. La simple évocation de son nom suscite émotion et respect dans les cuisines. C'est alors qu'il commence à approfondir ses connaissances sur son arrière-grand-père et se prend de passion pour celui-ci. En 1985, il publie avec son père les Souvenirs Inédits d'Auguste Escoffier, traduits plus tard par son épouse, sous le titre Auguste Escoffier, Memories of my life en 1996. Cette dernière a permis également la publication des Trésors Culinaires de la France, en compilant des articles rédigés par Auguste Escoffier dans le magazine Le Carnet d'Épicure, créé par lui à Londres en 1910 pour promouvoir le tourisme en France auprès des anglais. 
Michel Escoffier est également membre du comité consultatif des deux écoles "Auguste Escoffier Schools of Culinary Arts" aux États-Unis (à Austin, Tx, et Boulder, Co). 

Daniel Dorchies - Secrétaire Général

Ancien élève de l'École Hôtelière de Thonon-les-Bains aux côtés de son camarade de promotion Georges Blanc, il obtient un CAP de Cuisine, un CAP de restaurant, un CAP d'employé d'hôtel et un Brevet d'Enseignement Hôtelier. Il part ensuite en Angleterre comme réceptionniste au "Continental Hôtel" de Plymouth puis navigue pendant 11 ans à bord du Paquebot France, comme responsable de l’hébergement. Il prend ensuite la direction de la formation du personnel Club Méditerranée à Neuilly. Il participe à la création du FAFIH en 1976 pour la section France Sud, ce qui lui permettra de nouer de nombreuses relations avec des chefs et les principaux hôteliers de la Côte d'Azur. Il rejoint ensuite la Fondation en 1985 à la demande de Raymond Armisen, en qualité de Conseiller Technique, devient Administrateur, puis Secrétaire Général en 2009.

Richard Duvauchelle - Conservateur

Ancien élève de l'École Hôtelière de Paris en 1964, il obtient un CAP de Cuisine, un BTH, puis remporte le concours de meilleur élève pâtissier des écoles hôtelières de France en 1967. Plus tard, il parfait son expérience professionnelle par l'obtention d'un Master 2 en Management à la Sorbonne. Il prendra la direction de nombreux hôtels de luxe pendant près de 35 ans ("Martinez", "Noga Hilton" Cannes ...). C'est notamment en tant que Directeur de l'"Hôtel Martinez", qui accueille à l'époque les stages de l'Institut Joseph Donon, qu'il rencontre les membres de la Fondation. Il rejoint le Conseil d’Administration en 2015 avant de se voir proposer le poste de Conservateur en 2016. 

Jean-Pierre Hall - Trésorier

Après des études d’économie en Suisse et en Angleterre (LSE), il intègre le Groupe Concorde à Paris au
sein du "Lafayette" et "Lutécia" avant de rejoindre Richard Duvauchelle au "Nova Park Elysées". Il complétera ses acquis par un diplôme en Management à Cornell/Essec à Cergy.
Durant la plus grande partie de sa carrière, il dirigera de grands hôtels dont le "Byblos" à Saint Tropez, ouvrira "La Villa Belrose" et "Le Paradise Cove" à l’Île Maurice; hôtels qu’il intégrera dans les prestigieux groupements des "Relais & Châteaux" et "Leading Hôtels of the World".
Il poursuivra sa carrière en tant que consultant en France et en Afrique (Maroc & Afrique du Sud).
En 2018, Richard Duvauchelle l’invite au Conseil d’Administration de la Fondation et la place de Trésorier lui est proposé.

Historique de la Fondation

Auguste Escoffier

C'est la reconnaissance, l'impérissable souvenir, le désir de prolonger son œuvre et son éthique, qui sont à la base de l'idée puis de la réalisation de la Fondation par un groupe de personnes ayant connu et aimé Auguste Escoffier et travaillé avec lui à Londres, au "Savoy" et au "Carlton".

Ces hommes ont notamment pour nom, Joseph Donon (1899 -1979), Paul Thalamas (1871-1961) et Eugène Herbodeau (1888 - 1981) :

Paul Thalamas travailla avec Escoffier à Londres pendant quinze années, avant la guerre de 1914, au "Savoy" puis au "Carlton". Ensuite, Escoffier et Ritz lui confièrent le rôle de Chef de formation des brigades dans les hôtels que la Société Ritz Development ouvrit à Rome, Berlin, Salsomaggiore, Le Caire et Francfort.

Eugène Herbodeau fut Chef de partie au "Carlton" de 1912 à 1914 et y retourna après la guerre en 1919. En 1920, il fut Chef au "Ritz Hôtel" à Londres, puis il revint au "Carlton" en 1928, prendre la place prestigieuse de Chef, celle qu'avait occupé son Maître.

Dans les années 30, il ouvrit à Londres son propre restaurant, "L'Écu de France". Il en fit une maison de premier ordre fréquentée pendant la guerre de 1940 par "les Français de l'étranger" auxquels il rendit de grands services.

Thalamas et Herbodeau furent les biographes d'Auguste Escoffier. Ils publièrent un livre à Londres en 1956, intitulé : Auguste Escoffier, le Grand Maître de la Cuisine Française. C'est dans leur esprit que naquit alors le grand projet de créer dans sa maison natale un véritable mémorial à sa gloire et de prolonger son œuvre et son éthique de la Cuisine Française.

Le mécène, Joseph Donon, fut remarqué par Escoffier au Château du Marquis et de la Marquise de Panisse-Passis en 1906 à Villeneuve-Loubet, où il était jeune commis de cuisine. Sur invitation d'Auguste Escoffier, le jeune Donon se rendit à Londres pour y travailler. Escoffier l'engagea en 1907 au "Carlton" et l'enverra ensuite à New-York en avril 1912, comme Chef de cuisine du roi de l'acier : Henry Clay Frick. Joseph Donon y restera jusqu'en 1914 et reviendra en France pour y être mobilisé. Dès la fin de la guerre, il retournera aux États-Unis rejoindre son épouse. Il y poursuivra une extraordinaire carrière de Chef de cuisine et d'intendant de la famille Vanderbilt. Il deviendra le promoteur aux États-Unis de la Cuisine Française, celle d'Auguste Escoffier.

Lorsque l'idée naîtra d'une Fondation à la mémoire d'Auguste Escoffier, c'est lui qui en sera le mécène. Il financera à partir de 1960 les transformations et les aménagements de la maison natale d'Auguste Escoffier à Villeneuve-Loubet pour en faire un "Musée de l'Art Culinaire". Il financera également son fonctionnement en créant un trust dont les revenus alimenteront la Fondation. 

Eugène Herbodeau avec Auguste Escoffier

Les Premiers pas :

Dans un premier temps, en 1958, Paul Thalamas et Eugène Herbodeau, avec l'accord de Joseph Donon, cherchèrent à intéresser et grouper autour d'eux des hommes de métier : Louis Rampoldi, Restaurateur à Monte-Carlo et ancien Chef de l'"Hôtel de Paris", Jean Germa, Président de l'Académie Culinaire, Jean Ducroux, Président de la "Fraternelle des Cuisiniers" et Fondateur des "Disciples d'Auguste Escoffier" à Nice, Gaston Puget, Restaurateur à Nice, aujourd'hui disparus.

Leur but était de créer une Association loi 1901, premier pas dans cette réalisation. Ils y intéressèrent le Maire de Villeneuve-Loubet, le Docteur Lefèvre et son épouse Jenny Lefèvre, Pierre Bresson, Conseil juridique à Cagnes, ainsi que Raymond Armisen alors Proviseur du Lycée Hôtelier de Nice. La Fondation Escoffier est née officiellement le 9 juin 1959. Elle s'appelait "Fondation et Musée Auguste Escoffier" et son siège était à Paris, 55 avenue Georges V.

Après le décès de Paul Thalamas en 1961, les choses étaient en marche.

 

Naissance du Musée de l'Art Culinaire

Joseph Donon contacta la famille Escoffier pour faire part de son projet de création d'un Musée consacré à Auguste Escoffier. Le Docteur Jean-Bernard Escoffier séduit par cette proposition, céda les droits qu'il avait sur la plus grande partie de la maison natale. Joseph Rameaux, Chef de cuisine retraité, accepta de prendre en charge l'aménagement intérieur du Musée. À Paris, Maître Englert, Conseil juridique international, avait en main les intérêts de Joseph Donon. Celui-ci était en relation avec Vincent Bourrel, alors Procureur Général près la Cour des Comptes, Président du Club des Cent et avec Louis Vaudable, propriétaire du célèbre "Maxim's".

Vincent Bourrel fut Président délégué du Conseil d'Administration de 1966 à 1981, la présidence étant assurée par Joseph Donon. Il s'employa à établir les statuts d'une Fondation en vue de la "reconnaissance d'utilité publique".

Le décret parut au Journal Officiel du 29 novembre 1967. La direction de la Fondation fut assurée par Jeanne Neyrat-Thalamas de 1966 à 1993.

Le Musée de l'Art Culinaire fut inauguré le 2 Mai 1966Joseph Rameaux assura la tâche de Conservateur jusqu'en 1982. Maurice Panot lui succéda jusqu'en 1989. Pierre Bresson prit le relais en 1990 en regroupant les collections et en donnant un nouvel essor au Musée. 

 

Joseph Donon

Naissance de l'Institut Joseph Donon

La création d'un Musée-Bibliothèque étant réalisée, Vincent Bourrel et Louis Vaudable s'attelèrent à la formation professionnelle. En effet, un des buts de la Fondation, exprimé dans l'article premier de ses statuts, était (et est toujours) d'établir en coopération avec l'Académie Culinaire de France, une technologie propre à l'application de l'art culinaire français.

L'Institut Joseph Donon, organe de formation professionnelle de la Fondation, est un véritable centre de perfectionnement chargé de diffuser la gastronomie française dans le monde entier. Il s'intéresse directement et indirectement à la formation professionnelle supérieure des cuisiniers et plus généralement à tout ce qui concerne l'art culinaire français.

Un ambitieux projet d'école à Villeneuve-Loubet ne put aboutir, mais un créneau fut trouvé en 1976 grâce à la loi sur la formation continue de 1971. Des stages furent organisés au Lycée Hôtelier de Nice grâce à l'initiative et à la collaboration de son Proviseur de l'époque, Raymond Armisen qui devint ensuite Président de la Fondation de 1981 à 1997. Ils eurent d'abord lieu dans différents lycées hôteliers.

 

En 1983, des stages de cuisine d'un niveau plus élevé ont été mis en place avec une formule originale : un chef étoilé célèbre, différent chaque jour, enseigne sa cuisine. Ils se déroulaient dans les cuisines de l'"Hôtel Martinez" à Cannes et de l'"Hôtel du Palais" à Biarritz. Au fil du temps, ils ont acquis leurs lettres de noblesse dans la profession. Paule Neyrat, petite-fille de Paul Thalamas, en assura l'organisation jusqu'en 2001. Les stages sont actuellement confiés à la gestion du Conseil Culinaire et Pédagogique.

Musée Escoffier de l'Art Culinaire

3, rue Auguste Escoffier

06270 Villeneuve-Loubet Village

04.93.20.80.51

escoffier.com@gmail.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Trip Advisor Social Icon

© Fondation Auguste Escoffier. Tous droits réservés