Auguste Escoffier
The Birth of a Chef
28 October 1846

Born into a modest family on 28 October 1846 in Villeneuve-Loubet (near Nice in the Alpes-Maritimes), the son of a farrier, at the age of thirteen Auguste Escoffier entered apprenticeship to his uncle, who ran the “Restaurant Français” in Nice, on the corner of the current Place Masséna. At the time, Nice was the capital of the County that bore its name, before its annexation by France in 1860.

Auguste Escoffier then worked at the “Cercle Masséna” (1863), before becoming the chef at the “Restaurant des Frères Provençaux" in Rue Saint-François de Paul.  In 1864, he worked at the “Hotel Bellevue” in Nice, where he met the owner of the “Petit Moulin Rouge", a famous Parisian restaurant in Rue d’Antin, who offered him the position of assistant roaster.  
In 1865, he therefore left Nice for Paris, an experience during which he started meeting the famous names of the time.
 
In 1870, the Franco-Prussian war broke out. He was enlisted as a chef for the general staff of the Army of the Rhine.  This was the opportunity for him to observe and reflect on the eating habits of troops in combat and envisage new methods for conserving food.  Then during a period of captivity, he became the Chef for Marshall Mac-Mahon.

After being demobbed, he spend a season in Nice, from 1872 to 1873, at the “Hotel Luxembourg”. He then returned to the “Petit Moulin Rouge" in Paris, where he remained as the chef from 1873 to 1878.  There, he served the famous names of the time: Sarah Bernhardt, Juliette Adam, Gustave Doré, etc. During this period at the “Petit Moulin Rouge", he bought a food company in Cannes. He added a restaurant to this, the “Faisan Doré”, which operated in winter, Cannes having become a very elegant and much-visited resort, especially by a rich English clientele.

After the winter season, he returned to Paris and the “Petit Moulin Rouge", which he finally left for good in 1878. In August of that year, he married Delphine Daffis, the daughter of a major publisher. They had three children, Paul, Daniel and Germaine.
Until the spring of 1884, he could be found in Paris, running the “Maison Chevet”, the “Palais Royal” and the “Restaurant Maire”.

In May 1884, he opened the all new Casino café-restaurant in Boulogne-sur-mer.

Auguste Escoffier at the age of 29

His meeting with César Ritz 
1884

César Ritz

In October 1884, he became the Chef of the “Grand Hotel” in Monte-Carlo. This establishment belonged to a Swiss family, the Jungbluths. It was managed by César Ritz, who would later open the “Hotel national” in Lucerne. The “Grand Hotel” in Monte-Carlo was then an old establishment, and under more competition from the brand new “Hotel de Paris”. Extremely comfortable and luxurious, Jean Giroix, the chef of the “Grand Hotel” came and took over the kitchens. Giroix often extolled the merits of a young chef to Ritz, one Auguste Escoffier, whose reputation was beginning to grow. Ritz immediately asked him, in the height of the season, to come to the “Grand Hotel”. This was an important date in the career of both men, because their respective genius would allow them an extraordinary collaboration that would result in the creation of the international luxury hospitality trade.

The partnership between Ritz and Escoffier counts among the happiest events of their lives” noted Mrs Ritz in her book about her husband.
With the winter season in Monte-Carlo over, Escoffier followed Ritz to Lucerne, where he managed the kitchens of the “National”. It was at this time that train travel would see a marked development. The “Riviera” (as the “Côte d’Azur was not yet in existence) was linked to Paris by the railway as of 1865. From 1883 to 1896, fast luxury trains were launched one after the other: the Orient Express, the Calais-Rome, which went through Nice, the Sud-Express and the Nord-Express, etc. All this encouraged tourism.

The future King of Denmark, Frederick VIII, Empress Elisabeth of Austria, King Francis II of the Two-Sicilies, Queen Victoria, the Prince of Wales, Don Pedro, Emperor of Brazil and the Grand Dukes of Russia came to Monte-Carlo, all rivalling in luxury and magnificence.
At this time, Escoffier’s menus were often created in homage to the great ladies of this society: Réjane salad, Rachel Mignonnettes of quail, Pears Mary Garden, Poularde Adelina Patti, Coupe Yvette, Strawberries Sarah Bernhardt, Peach Melba...

This period would last seven years, until April 1890 when Ritz took over the “Savoy Hotel” in London, which had opened a year earlier. He entrusted the running of the kitchens and restaurant to Escoffier. They remained there until 1897 and made this Hotel the most sumptuous in Europe, frequented by a rich and royal clientele.

The Savoy Hotel 

London

1890

 

The “Savoy” shone with unprecedented brightness and its cuisine acquired international fame. It would be frequented by all the European aristocracy, the “kings” of American industry, and the greatest artists of the time, used to the refinement of César Ritz’s hotels and Escoffier’s cuisine. The Castellanes, the Breteuils, the Sagans, the Radziwills, the Rudinis, the Vanderbilts, Sarah Bernhardt and Nellie Melba would follow suit. It was for this famous Australian singer that in 1894 Auguste Escoffier would create his most famous desert, the “Peach Swan”, in homage to her talent after hearing her in Wagner’s Lohengrin at Covent Garden. This desert became the “Peach Melba” on the inauguration of the Carlton Hotel in London in 1899.

This is where he invented the set price menu, for a minimum of four people, which quickly met with success among the Carlton’s demanding and busy clientele.

Wishing to promote French products in as far as possible, he had 4500 pounds of butter delivered from Normandy and Brittany every month, went to Lauris (in Provence) to encourage farmers to grow green asparagus instead of white, as the English preferred this. He did the same for peaches from the Rhone valley. He introduced London’s poultry farmers to the Rouen duck, which couldn’t be found there at the time. He managed to have tinned crushed tomatoes, a recipe he had developed during his time at the “Petit Moulin Rouge” produced and delivered by a fruit and vegetable preserving company.

He even managed, during a great ball for 600 people, to serve a cold dish called “Aurora Nymphs’ Legs”, happy to have the English - who called the French people “froggies” - unknowingly eat frogs leg’s, with a little help from the Prince of Wales who adored them!

Nellie Melba

The birth of the Ritz Hotel
in Paris
1898

César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier left the Savoy with some of their colleagues in March 1897 following tension with the hotel’s managers, Ritz already having the plan to open the first establishment to bear his name at Place Vendôme in Paris. The Prince of Wales, the future King Edward VII, publicly said of César Ritz: "Where Ritz goes, we shall follow"!

In fact, he created his own company, the Ritz Development Co., in which Escoffier was a partner. The Ritz Hotel fully expressed his revolutionary ideas on hospitality, his desire for comfort and hygiene and his organizational genius. Escoffier supervised the design and organization of the kitchens.

At the same time, the delay in building the Carlton Hotel in London served César Ritz’s luxury project.

The “Ritz” was opened with a sumptuous gala on 5 June 1898, and was a triumph. The most famous people in the world joined with Parisian society for this occasion.
Marcel Proust, the Duc de Levis Mirepoix, Gordon Bennet, Santos Dumont, Boni de Castellane…impossible to list the names of all the hundreds of people, the VIPs of the time who then came to the Ritz,  the fashionable meeting place that guaranteed supreme elegance.
Boni de Castellane wrote: “I will sack my Chef, I would be stupid to try and rival Ritz and Escoffier”.

The Carlton
in London
1899

At the start of 1899, Escoffier left the Ritz Hotel and went back to London to prepare the opening of the Carlton Hotel, which took place on 1 July of this year. 

He remained there until 1920, the year he retired to Monte-Carlo, to the house he had purchased in 1884 and where his wife lived, thus achieving the work on which he was fixated: the development of French cuisine, not only in England but throughout the entire world.
It was at the Carlton, supported by a team of sixty cooks, that he would again confirm the excellence of his cuisine and perfect his organization.


His colleagues, friends and biographers, Eugène Herbodeau and Paul Thalamas recounted:

“Elegantly dressed as of the morning, in his famous strictly-cut frock coat as he only put on his waistcoat and chef’s hat on Sundays, a day of crowds and action stations when he would rush to serve 500 covers at each sitting. As of seven o’clock, he would tour the kitchens, checking every detail, imposing an iron will without ever raising his voice. His morning was regularly split between his desk, where he drew up his menus, and the dining room where he enquire about the minutest of details for every client.
During service, he ceaselessly shuttled between the dining room and the kitchens, nothing escaped him. Around three thirty, when everything was over, he would return to his desk, read, write, reflect and then visit his suppliers, on foot as he was a tireless walker.
At the end of the day, at six o’clock, he would return to the kitchens, prepare the menus for the reserved tables. The dinner service lasted from seven o’clock until one in the morning. Around nine o’clock, if he hadn’t been called to the table of a famous client, he would eat a light meal alone and then return to his desk.
At midnight, he would take a final tour of the kitchen and check what remained, in order to avoid any waste.”

Auguste Escoffier and his staff at the Carlton in London

Organizing the kitchens on the Cruise Liners
1904-1913

Another major activity by Escoffier during these glorious years was the organization of the kitchens on the great German Cruise Liners.
 
In 1904, the “Hamberg-Amerika Line” Sailing Company set up an à la carte restaurant service for its luxury passengers on its extremely beautiful ships, under the “Ritz Carlton Restaurant” brand name. Auguste Escoffier was responsible for organizing the kitchens. The first liner thus equipped was the “Amerika”, followed by the “Kaiserin Augusta Victoria" (45,000 tonnes).
These facilities were the perfect examples of their type at the turn of the century. Escoffier sailed on every maiden voyage, checking the slightest detail of the facilities and the work by the team.

In 1906, on board the “Amerika”, he had the chance to meet German Emperor Willhelm II, with whom he had a one-on-one discussion.
In 1913, he met the Emperor again, on board the “Imperator” (53,000 tonnes), the German company’s flagship, during its maiden voyage. During this meeting, Auguste Escoffier expressed his deepest wish, that never again would two great peoples war against each other, a wish shared by the Emperor. 
The following year, the First World War broke out, and his second son Daniel was killed during its first few weeks.

An Active Retirement
1920-1935

The importance of Escoffier’s professional life, especially abroad, and the fame that the perfection of his work brought to France was immense. He gave this wonderful trade back its letters patent. 
President Raymond Poincaré awarded him the title of Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur while on an official visit to London on 11 November 1919 for the 1st anniversary of the 1918 Armistice. He was the first Chef to receive this award. In 1928, he was promoted to Officier de la Légion d'Honneur by Edouard Herriot, Minister for Public Education.

In 1920
, after an exceptional career spanning 61 years, he embarked on a deserved retirement in Monte-Carlo. Nevertheless, he continued to travel in France and abroad for various professional events: the opening of hotels, exhibitions and culinary competitions, etc. He continued to write multiple articles and returned twice more to the United States. His last journey in 1930 would be devoted to the opening of the "Hotel Pierre" in New York. 

The Villa Fernand - Monaco

A Work that endures

Few men in the history of cuisine have marked a profession as deeply, both in terms of the duration and exemplary nature of their career and in the transformations and innovations that they have brought to it. 

 
While our tastes have changed today, as have the cooking utensils, cooking and conservation methods and the menu structure, in a world where new techniques are established, the rules of cuisine and for organizing work themselves remain identical to those created by Auguste Escoffier in his time.

 
His talent as a writer also allowed him to leave for posterity, in works that have since become classics, the lessons and tips that he generously gave to those who worked under him. After having been the codemaker, he is still today the undisputable theorist of modern cuisine.
 
In 1885 he published his first work, Les fleurs en cire (Wax flowers), confections he loved to make, perhaps satisfying his childhood desire to become a sculptor.

In 1903, the first edition of the Guide Culinaire was published, the master work that still remains the chefs’ bible.
In 1921, the 4th edition of the Guide was published, the last in his lifetime. This work was translated into many languages over the years.

In 1910 he created a magazine in London, the Carnet d'Épicure, in order to promote tourism in France amongst the English. 
 
In 1912, with the Livre des Menus, Escoffier gave every cook multiple tips, many of which are still applicable in today's cuisine.

To help service in the dining room, the Aide-Mémoire Culinaire was published in 1919.  

Two works were brought together in one collection, La vie a bon marché: recipes for preparing rice and recipes for preparing cod that were themselves aimed at consumers with modest incomes. In fact, Escoffier campaigned for everyone to be able to eat properly.

Lastly, Ma Cuisine, published in 1934 was aimed more specifically at home cooks the world over and was translated into several languages.

Auguste Escoffier, the Humanist

Escoffier was constantly concerned for the well-being of his employees and the improvement of their living conditions.
Consequently, during the First World War in London, he ceaselessly provided generous aid to the families of his cooks who had enlisted.  He organized charity dinners, the profits from which were sent to France. A hand-written card from 27 July 1917 indicates a profit of 430 pounds, i.e. 11,000 Francs (over €70,000 today) “from a small party we have just held in favour of the women and children of our colleagues at the front”.

In London, throughout the period when he was running the kitchens of the Savoy Hotel and then the Carlton, his bounty and generosity never waivered. He thus helped the Petites Sœurs des Pauvres nuns in feeding the elderly people they looked after, by giving them the excess left over from the day before, in particular quails from which only the breasts had been served to clients, thus avoiding waste. 

In 1903, he created the first Chefs’ Union in Great Britain.

In 1910, he published a brochure entitled the Mutual assistance project for ending poverty. While illness and old age were synonymous with poverty, he proposed various material safety measures for retirement, thus creating a veritable Social Security

Escoffier Museum of Culinary Art

3, rue Auguste Escoffier

06270 Villeneuve-Loubet Village

04.93.20.80.51

escoffier.com@gmail.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Trip Advisor Social Icon

© Fondation Auguste Escoffier. Tous droits réservés

Auguste Escoffier

La Naissance d'un Chef

28 octobre 1846

Né le 28 Octobre 1846 à Villeneuve-Loubet (près de Nice, Alpes-Maritimes), dans une famille modeste, d'un père maréchal-ferrant, Auguste Escoffier entre en apprentissage dès l'âge de treize ans chez son oncle qui tenait le "Restaurant Français" à Nice, à l'angle de l'actuelle Place Masséna. À l'époque, Nice était la capitale du Comté qui portait son nom, avant son rattachement à la France en 1860.

Auguste Escoffier travaille ensuite au "Cercle Masséna" (1863), puis comme Chef de cuisine au "Restaurant des Frères Provençaux", rue Saint-François de Paul.  En 1864, il travaille à l'"Hôtel Bellevue" à Nice où il rencontre le propriétaire du "Petit Moulin Rouge", prestigieux restaurant parisien rue d'Antin, qui lui propose un poste de commis rôtisseur.  

En 1865, il quitte donc Nice pour Paris, expérience durant laquelle il commence à rencontrer des célébrités de l'époque.

 

En 1870 éclate la guerre franco-prussienne. Il est mobilisé comme Chef de l'État-Major de l'Armée du Rhin.  C'est l'occasion pour lui d'observer, de réfléchir sur l'alimentation des troupes en campagne et d'envisager de nouvelles méthodes de conservation des aliments. Il devient ensuite, pendant une période de captivité, Chef de cuisine du Maréchal Mac-Mahon.

Après sa démobilisation, il fait une saison à Nice, de 1872 à 1873, à "l'Hôtel Luxembourg". Puis il retourne au "Petit Moulin Rouge" à Paris où il restera de 1873 à 1878 comme Chef.  Il y sert les personnalités de l'époque : Sarah Bernhardt, Juliette Adam, Gustave Doré... Durant cette période au "Petit Moulin Rouge", il achète à Cannes une maison de comestibles. Il y ajoute un restaurant, "Le Faisan Doré", qu'il exploite l'hiver, Cannes étant devenue une station très élégante et fréquentée, surtout par une riche clientèle anglaise.

Après la saison d'hiver, il rejoint Paris et "Le Petit Moulin Rouge", qu'il quitte définitivement en 1878. En août de cette année-là, il épouse Delphine Daffis, fille d'un important éditeur. Ils auront trois enfants, Paul, Daniel et Germaine.
Jusqu'au printemps 1884, on le retrouve à Paris à la direction de la "Maison Chevet" au "Palais Royal", et au "Restaurant Maire".


En Mai 1884, il fait l'ouverture du tout nouveau café-restaurant du Casino de Boulogne-sur-mer.

Auguste Escoffier à l'âge de 29 ans

Sa Rencontre avec César Ritz 

1884

César Ritz

En Octobre 1884, il devient Chef de cuisine du "Grand Hôtel" de Monte-Carlo. Cet établissement appartenait à une famille suisse, les Jungbluth. Il était dirigé par César Ritz, qui venait d'ouvrir l'"Hôtel National" à Lucerne. "Le Grand Hôtel" à Monte-Carlo était alors un vieil établissement, d'autant plus concurrencé par le tout nouvel "Hôtel de Paris". Très confortable et luxueux, Jean Giroix, Chef du "Grand Hôtel", venait de prendre la direction des cuisines. Giroix avait souvent vanté à Ritz les mérites d'un jeune chef de cuisine, Auguste Escoffier, dont la réputation commençait à grandir. Ritz lui demanda immédiatement, en pleine saison, de venir au "Grand Hôtel". Cette date est importante dans la carrière des deux hommes car leur génie respectif va leur permettre une extraordinaire collaboration qui aboutira à la création de l'hôtellerie de luxe internationale.

"L'association de Ritz et d'Escoffier compte parmi les événements les plus heureux de leurs vies", note Madame Ritz dans son livre consacré à son mari.

Escoffier, la saison d'hiver à Monte-Carlo terminée, va suivre Ritz à Lucerne, où il dirigera les cuisines du "National". C'est à cette époque que les transports par le train vont connaître un développement considérable. La "Riviera" (la "Côte d'Azur" n'existait pas encore) est reliée à Paris par le chemin de fer depuis 1865. De 1883 à 1896, les grands rapides de luxe sont lancés les uns après les autres : l'Orient Express, le Calais-Rome qui passe par Nice, le Sud-Express et le Nord-Express... Tout cela favorise le tourisme.

Le futur Roi du Danemark, Frédéric VIII, l'Impératrice Elisabeth d'Autriche, François II, Roi des Deux-Siciles, la Reine Victoria, le Prince de Galles, Don Pedro, Empereur du Brésil et les Grands Ducs de Russie viennent à Monte-Carlo, rivaliser de luxe et de magnificence.
À cette époque, les menus d'Escoffier sont souvent réalisés en hommage aux grandes dames de cette société : Salade Réjane, Mignonnettes de Cailles Rachel, Poires Mary Garden, Poularde Adelina Patti, Coupe Yvette, Fraises Sarah Bernhardt, Pêche Melba...


Cette période durera sept années, jusqu'en avril 1890, date à laquelle Ritz prend la direction du "Savoy Hôtel" à Londres, ouvert un an plus tôt. Il confie la direction des cuisines et du restaurant à Escoffier. Ils y resteront jusqu'en 1897 et feront de cet Hôtel le plus somptueux d'Europe, fréquenté par une clientèle riche et princière.

Le Savoy Hôtel 

Londres

1890

 

Le "Savoy" brille d'un éclat sans précédent et sa cuisine acquiert une renommée internationale. Il sera fréquenté par toute l'aristocratie européenne, les "rois" de l'industrie américaine et les plus grands artistes de l'époque, habitués au raffinement des hôtels de César Ritz et à celui de la cuisine d'Escoffier. Les Castellane, les Breteuil, les Sagan, les Radziwill, les Rudini, les Vanderbilt, Sarah Bernhardt et Nellie Melba s'y succèdent. C'est pour cette célèbre cantatrice australienne qu'Auguste Escoffier créera, en 1894, son plus célèbre dessert : "la Pêche au cygne", en hommage à son talent après l'avoir entendue à "Covent Garden" dans Lohengrin de Wagner. Ce dessert deviendra la "Pêche Melba" à l'inauguration de l'"Hôtel Carlton" de Londres en 1899.

C'est là qu'il invente les menus à prix fixes, pour quatre convives au moins, qui rencontrent un vif succès auprès de la clientèle exigeante et pressée du "Carlton".


Dans son souci de promouvoir au mieux les produits français, il fera venir de Normandie et de Bretagne 4500 livres de beurre par mois, ira à Lauris (en Provence) inciter les cultivateurs à produire, des asperges vertes à la place des blanches, dont les Anglais sont friands. Il fera de même pour les pêches de la Vallée du Rhône. Il introduira chez les volaillers de Londres, le canard de Rouen, qui était introuvable. Il arrivera à se faire produire et livrer, par une fabrique de conserves de fruits et légumes, la tomate concassée en boîte, recette qu'il avait inventée à l'époque du "Petit Moulin Rouge".

Il accomplira même l'exploit de servir, lors d'un grand bal de 600 personnes, un plat froid baptisé pour la circonstance "Cuisses de Nymphes à l'aurore", tout heureux de faire manger, sans qu'ils le sachent et avec la complicité du Prince de Galles qui en raffolait, des cuisses de grenouilles aux anglais qui appelaient les français "froggies" (mangeurs de grenouilles) !

Nellie Melba

La Naissance du Ritz Hôtel

à Paris

1898

César Ritz et Auguste Escoffier, avec une partie de leurs collaborateurs, quittent le "Savoy" en mars 1897 à la suite de tensions avec les administrateurs de l'hôtel, Ritz ayant déjà comme projet l'ouverture du premier établissement portant son nom, Place Vendôme à Paris. Le Prince de Galles, futur Roi Edouard VII, avait dit en public de César Ritz : "Where Ritz goes, we shall follow"!

En effet, il avait créé sa propre société, la Ritz Development Co., à laquelle Escoffier était associé. L'Hôtel Ritz exprimera pleinement ses idées révolutionnaires sur l'hôtellerie, son souci du confort et de l'hygiène et son génie de I'organisation. Escoffier supervisera la conception et l'organisation des cuisines.

En parallèle, le retard de la construction du "Carlton Hôtel" de Londres servira le projet luxueux de César Ritz.


Le "Ritz" est inauguré avec un fastueux gala, le 5 Juin 1898, dont l'ouverture fut un triomphe. Les personnalités les plus importantes du Monde se joignent à cette occasion à la société Parisienne.
Marcel Proust, le Duc de Levis Mirepoix, Gordon Bennet, Santos Dumont, Boni de Castellane, on ne peut citer tous les noms des centaines de personnes, "V.I.P" de l'époque, qui allaient ensuite faire du "Ritz" le lieu de rencontre à la mode, garant de suprême élégance.
Boni de Castellane écrivait : "Je vais congédier mon Chef, je serais trop bête d'essayer de rivaliser avec Ritz et Escoffier".

Le Carlton

à Londres

1899

Début 1899, Escoffier quitte l'"Hôtel Ritz" et regagne Londres pour préparer l'ouverture du "Carlton Hôtel", qui aura lieu le 1er juillet de cette même année. 

Il y restera jusqu'en 1920, année de sa retraite qu'il prendra à Monte-Carlo, dans sa maison acquise en 1884 où résidait son épouse, achevant ainsi l'oeuvre qu'il s'était fixée : le développement de la cuisine française, non seulement en Angleterre mais dans le monde entier.

C'est au "Carlton", fort d'une brigade de soixante cuisiniers, qu'il affirmera encore l'excellence de sa cuisine et perfectionnera son organisation.

Ses collaborateurs, amis et biographes, Eugène Herbodeau et Paul Thalamas racontent :

"Élégamment habillé dès le matin, sa redingote strictement coupée est restée célèbre, il ne revêtait sa veste et sa toque que le dimanche, jour d'affluence et de "coup de feu" où il était courant de servir 500 couverts à chaque repas. Dès sept heures, il faisait le tour des cuisines, contrôlant chaque détail, imposant une discipline de fer sans jamais hausser la voix. Sa matinée se partageait régulièrement entre son bureau où il élaborait ses menus, la salle du restaurant où il s'informait des moindres détails pour chaque client.

Pendant le service, il faisait sans cesse la navette entre la salle et les cuisines, rien ne lui échappait. Vers trois heures et demi, quand tout était terminé, il regagnait son bureau, lisait, écrivait, réfléchissait puis rendait visite, à pied car c'était un marcheur infatigable, à ses fournisseurs.

En fin de journée, à six heures, il regagnait les cuisines, préparait les menus des tables retenues. Le service du dîner durait de sept heures à une heure du matin. Vers neuf heures, s'il n'était pas convié à la table d'un client illustre, il se restaurait seul d'un léger repas puis retournait dans son bureau.

À minuit, il faisait un dernier tour en cuisine et vérifiait ce qu'il restait afin d'éviter tout gaspillage."

Auguste Escoffier et son personnel au "Carlton" de Londres

L'organisation des cuisines de Paquebots

1904-1913

Une autre activité importante d'Escoffier pendant ces années magnifiques fut l'organisation des cuisines de grands paquebots allemands.

 

La Compagnie de navigation "Hamburg-Amerika Line" obtint en 1904 d'aménager sur ses très beaux navires un service de restaurant à la carte pour ses passagers de marque, sous l'enseigne "Ritz Carlton Restaurant". Auguste Escoffier fut chargé d'organiser les cuisines. Le premier paquebot ainsi équipé fut l'"Amerika"; vint ensuite le "Kaiserin Augusta Victoria" (45 000 tonnes).
Ces installations étaient des modèles du genre au tout début du siècle. Escoffier participait à chaque voyage inaugural, vérifiant le moindre détail des installations et du travail de la brigade.


En 1906, il eut l'occasion de rencontrer à bord de l'"Amerika", l'Empereur d'Allemagne Guillaume II, avec lequel il s'entretint en tête-à-tête.

En 1913, il rencontre à nouveau l'Empereur à bord de l'"Imperator" (53 000 tonnes), vaisseau amiral de la compagnie allemande, à l'occasion de son voyage inaugural. Lors de cette entrevue, Auguste Escoffier exprime son vœu le plus cher que plus jamais ces deux grands peuples n'aient à combattre l'un contre l'autre, souhait partagé par l'Empereur. 

Dans l'année qui suivit, la Première Guerre Mondiale éclata, et son deuxième fils, Daniel, fut tué dès les premières semaines.

Une Retraite Active

1920-1935

L'importance de l'activité professionnelle d'Escoffier, surtout à l'étranger, et le prestige que la perfection de son travail a apporté à la France furent immenses. Il redonna à ce beau métier ses lettres de noblesse. 

Le Président Raymond Poincaré en visite officielle à Londres le 11 novembre 1919, à l'occasion du 1er anniversaire de l'Armistice de 1918, lui accorde le titre de Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur. Il est le premier Chef de cuisine à recevoir cette distinction. En 1928, il est élevé au grade d'Officier de la Légion d'Honneur par Edouard Herriot, Ministre de l'Instruction Publique.

En 1920, après 61 ans d'une carrière exceptionnelle, il prend une retraite méritée à Monte-Carlo. Il continue néanmoins à voyager en France et à l'étranger pour diverses manifestations professionnelles : ouvertures d'hôtels, inaugurations d'expositions et concours culinaires... Il continue d'écrire de nombreux articles et se rend encore deux fois aux Etats-Unis. Son dernier voyage en 1930 sera consacré à l'ouverture de l'"Hôtel Pierre" à New-York.  

La Villa Fernand - Monaco

Une Œuvre qui demeure

Peu d'hommes dans l'histoire de la cuisine ont marqué aussi profondément une profession, tant sur la durée, l'exemplarité de leur carrière, que par les transformations et les innovations qu'ils ont su apporter. 

 

Si de nos jours les goûts ont évolué, en même temps que les ustensiles de cuisine, les méthodes de cuisson et de conservation et la structure des menus, dans un monde où se sont installées de nouvelles techniques, les règles de cuisine et l'organisation du travail demeurent quant à elles identiques à celles qu'Auguste Escoffier créa à son époque.

 

Son talent d'écrivain lui a aussi permis de laisser, pour la postérité, dans des ouvrages devenus depuis classiques, des leçons et des conseils qu'il donnait généreusement à ceux qui travaillaient sous sa direction. Après en avoir été le codificateur, il est encore aujourd'hui le théoricien incontestable de la cuisine moderne.

 

En 1885, parait son premier ouvrage Les fleurs en cire, confections qu'il aimait beaucoup exécuter, satisfaisant peut-être ainsi son désir d'enfant de devenir sculpteur.

En 1903, paraît la première édition du Guide Culinaire, œuvre maîtresse qui reste encore aujourd'hui la "Bible" des Chefs de cuisine.

En 1921, paraît la 4ème édition du Guide, la dernière de son vivant. Cet ouvrage fut traduit dans de très nombreuses langues au cours des ans.

En 1910 il créé à Londres un magazine, Le Carnet d'Épicure, afin de promouvoir le tourisme en France auprès des Anglais. 

 

En 1912, avec Le Livre des Menus, Escoffier apporte à tous les cuisiniers de multiples conseils, pour la plupart encore applicables dans la cuisine de notre époque.

Pour aider le service en salle, L'Aide-Mémoire Culinaire paraît en 1919.  

Deux ouvrages rassemblés dans un recueil, La vie à bon marché : recettes pour accommoder le riz et recettes pour accommoder la morue, s'adressent quant à eux aux consommateurs aux revenus modestes. En effet, Escoffier militait pour que tout le monde puisse manger convenablement.

Enfin, Ma Cuisine, publié en 1934, s'adresse plus précisément aux cuisiniers de maison du monde entier et a été traduit dans plusieurs langues.

Auguste Escoffier, l'Humaniste

Escoffier avait un souci constant du bien-être de ses employés et de l'amélioration de leurs conditions de vie.

Ainsi, pendant la guerre de 1914-18, à Londres, il ne cesse d'apporter une contribution généreuse aux familles de ses cuisiniers mobilisés. Il organise des dîners de bienfaisance dont le profit est envoyé en France. Une carte manuscrite du 27 juillet 1917 indique un bénéfice de 430 livres, soit 11 000 francs (plus de 70 000€ aujourd'hui) "bénéfice d'une petite fête que nous venons de donner en faveur des femmes et des enfants de nos collègues sur le front".

À Londres, pendant toute l'époque où il fut administrateur des cuisines du "Savoy Hôtel" puis du "Carlton", sa bonté et sa générosité ne se démentirent jamais. Il aida ainsi les Petites Sœurs des Pauvres en leur faisant bénéficier, pour la nourriture des vieillards dont elles s'occupaient, des surplus non utilisés la veille, en particulier des cailles dont seuls les blancs étaient servis aux clients, évitant ainsi le gaspillage. 

En 1903, il crée la première Mutuelle des Cuisiniers en Grande-Bretagne.

En 1910, il publie une brochure intitulée Projet d'assistance mutuelle pour l'extinction du paupérisme. Alors que maladie et vieillesse étaient synonymes de pauvreté, il propose diverses mesures de sécurité matérielle de retraite, imaginant ainsi une véritable Sécurité Sociale

Musée Escoffier de l'Art Culinaire

3, rue Auguste Escoffier

06270 Villeneuve-Loubet Village

04.93.20.80.51

escoffier.com@gmail.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Trip Advisor Social Icon

© Fondation Auguste Escoffier. Tous droits réservés